banner.jpg (5045 bytes)

Home   |  Articles   |   More Deep Thoughts   |   Deep Groove Encyclopedia   |   Reviews
Mixes and Tunes   |   Links   |   Store   |   Contact


mutiny-2005cvr.jpg (14798 bytes)


Under the leadership of Jerome Brailey, Mutiny was one of the few acts with roots originating from the P-Funk empire to establish an identity independent of George Clinton.  Brailey was the drummer during Parliament's crucial 1975-77 years, laying the rhythmic foundation on the  landmark jams "Funkentelechy," "Do That Stuff" and "Tear the Roof Off the Sucker," which he co-wrote.   His contributions to the band have earned Brailey a reputation as one of the best funk drummers of all time.

Brailey was already an industry veteran by the time he joined Parliament, having played with the Five Stairsteps and Chambers Brothers, so he was more business-minded than many of P-Funk's members.  A financial dispute with George Clinton led to Brailey and Glenn Goins leaving Parliament during the 1977 Earth Tour, and Brailey maintains he is still owed money by Clinton.

He wasted no time in taking out his frustrations in the studio, helping Goins complete the album from Quazar while establishing his own band, Mutiny.  The 1979 album Mutiny On The Mamaship was a devastating diatribe against Clinton's arrogant and manipulative ways, set to a relentlessly funky backing.  Clinton was so impressed with the album that he said he would have released it himself! Brailey had made his point.

Mutiny delivered a strong follow-up LP Funk Plus The One, but with no hits forthcoming, Columbia droppled them from the label.  The independent Night With the Boys was issued in 1983 and Brailey keeps busy with production and studio work.  Mutiny had a brief comeback on Aftershock 2005.

Visit Brailey's official site at

Mutiny's Deepest Grooves

Mutiny On The Mamaship (Columbia, 1979)
Is it derivative? Yes. But much of black music of this time was built on the model of P-Funk.  What matters is that the group cooks up such an intoxicating groove that you expect to hear George Clinton himself at any moment, even if most songs are dissing him.  Ultimate jams here include "Lump," "Voyage To the Bottom of the P" and "Funk-N-Bop." 

Funk Plus The One (Columbia, 1980)
Just as nasty as Mamaship, if not more so. Brailey's drumming is off the hook, elevating every song to the next level.  Props are also to be awarded to guitarists Skitch Lovett and Lenny Holmes, who bring the heat on "Reality," "Semi First Class Seat" and "Will It Be Tomorrow."  

A Night With The Boys (J Romeo, 1983)

Aftershock 2005 (Rykodisc, 1996) 
Reunion project issued as part of Bill Laswell's fascination with signing as many P-Funkers as possible via his Black Arc label.

How's Your Loose Booty (Sequel, 2000)
Best-of compilation that is a good sampling of their material.

Copyright 2003  All rights reserved.

Home   |  Articles   |   More Deep Thoughts   |   Deep Groove Encyclopedia   |   Reviews
Mixes and Tunes   |   Links   |   Store   |   Contact